• 18/06/2023
  • 22/11/2023

Moon Phases in Western Astrology: How Were the Eight Lunation Types of Personality Born?

Lunation refers to the phases of the moon as it changes from day to day. The illustration below shows the lunation cycle from the New Moon to the Full Moon and then back to the New Moon again, divided into eight phases. The names such as the 'New Moon', 'Waxing Crescent Moon' and 'First Quarter Moon' are what each lunar phase is called. The lunation begins at the New Moon and ends at the Waning Crescent Moon.

  • 18/06/2023
  • 13/06/2024

Let the Moon Phase You Were Born Under Tell You Who You Are

Lunation, also known as ‘moon phases’, refers to the daily changes in the shape of the moon. Dane Rudhyar, a Western astrologer born in France in 1895 and later emigrated to the USA where he died in 1985, proposed that humans can be classified into eight types according to the lunation under which they were born. This classification, although not independent astrology in itself, is one of the methods used in Western astrology to interpret the horoscope. This article describes an easy way to find out the lunation (or moon phase) you were born under, the eight moon phases of personality and some famous people born under each lunation.